top of page
  • Writer's pictureD Fer

FEREIG is IN BHUTAN! Itinerary

Ok, ok I'm the only one who gets the play on my name, right? Unless you know what Fereig means. It is the Egyptian spelling of the trilateral root F-R-J - meaning to be free or liberate. So here I go FREE in Bhutan!



Here's our plan thus far - but remember, plans change and who knows where we will get to? For the academics and scholars among you - YES I'll be covering the conference too!

It's all so surreal - can't quite believe I am here!

Each item is one day:

  1. Flight from Bangkok to Paro, followed by visits to Kyichu and Dungtse Lhakhang temples.

  2. Morning program - Yoga, Tummo & Karmamudra - followed by afternoon hike from Chele La pass to Kila Gompa nunnery.

  3. Pilgrimage to Vajrayoginī temple at Chumphug Ney, with teachings on outer, inner, and secret yoginī practices.

  4. Day excursion to Paro Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest Monastery) and rarely visited Khandro Lhakhang and Dorje Drolo Cave, accompanied by Bhutanese yoginī adepts. OMG! I'm going to Paro Taktsang! I've only had that on my screen saver for a decade. PINCH ME! I think I'm dreaming!

  5. The morning program is followed by a visit to the temple residence of Thangtong Gyalpo. Afterwards, continue to Bhutan’s capital city of Thimphu. In the evening, attend the opening events of the Vajrayāna Buddhism Conference.

  6. Conference on ‘Vajrayāna Buddhism in the Modern World,’ hosted by the Centre for Bhutan Studies and Bhutan’s Central Monastic Body at Zhichenkhar. O/N Thimphu.

  7. Conference

  8. Conference

  9. Conference

  10. Day excursion to Punakha, with visits to Punakha Dzong and Chimmi Lhakhang, the principal temple connected with Drukpa Kunleg.

  11. Attend masked dances of the Thimphu Tsechu long-life ceremony, followed by pilgrimages to Tamdin Ney and Buddha Dordenma.

  12. Drive to Dochu La pass and hike to Lungchutse and Trashigang monasteries, ending at Hongtsho. Dinner at a Bhutanese heritage restaurant.

  13. Drive to Paro for flights to Bangkok, Delhi, or Kathmandu.


Interested in my Bhutan Blog?

Please join me for the journey! This will be my last post here. Click below to access the adventure.




You'll receive instructions to get your password & sign-up!

bottom of page