top of page
  • Writer's pictureD Fer

Will PRE-packing help or hinder?



So, I think I'm feeling a bit Hermione Granger...getting ready and packing already. WHAT? You're already packing? YES!

You see, I have to pack for FOUR, yes four circumstances: a conference, hiking, yoga, and a quick Thai getaway with my old roomie from Thailand, (originally meant as the buffer in case we needed PCR tests)

plus...

a few professional meetings along the way.


I like to travel light - I mean I went to Hawai'i for a month with only a purse and a carry-on LIGHT.


My partner tells me plan to dress semiformal in the conference - oh that could mean so many things! How dare you tell a lady it's all semiformal! Now I may need a suitcase. "Oh yes and we'll need to dress for dinner."

What does that mean? I am envisioning some of my friends' parents when we were twenty-somethings who required us to call them by first names, show up an hour before dinner for the proper bantering in the living room before joining around the dining table, for eating, merriment, and more banter. That, required us to dress for dinner. For the record, I loved it - but that means I need a suitcase....or do I?

I guess we will find out...

I went hunting for a long skirt to no avail - something that doesn't wrinkle can be dressed down or up, has the appropriate swish and I actually want to wear it. Either ridiculously expensive, like this stunning thing at Banana Republic skirt I refuse to link on principle ($400 for a poly skirt??!!!)

OR

so frumpy no way it will come with me to Bhutan!


GUESS WHAT? I'm pulling out the sewing machine for that one. Frenching the seams will make it reversible and I just happen to have found some silk crepe in the basement that was originally for a wedding that never happened. So much for the designer gown I planned...now it's 2 pieces with an added dash of handloomed cotton-silk from Kerala for a splash of mystique.


Ask me if I've made it yet....OF COURSE NOT! But I'm on it - currently setting the son to work clearing out all his book boxes so we can set up the machine...maybe you'll catch a glimpse of it in pics to come later next month!




Interested in my Bhutan Blog?

Please join me for the journey!




You'll receive instructions to get your password & sign-up!


Looking forward to the journey!


Diane


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page